• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Increasing the borrowing facility on my mortgage now that I am a contractor?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Increasing the borrowing facility on my mortgage now that I am a contractor?

Hi folks,

first post! This year I made the switch to contracting after nine years as a permanent employee. I wasn't sure whether I wanted to contract as a long term option and must admit to being confused about the umbrella company/limited company thing (I still am!). In the end I went through the Parasol umbrella company and am now four months into my first contract.

The thing is, I'm now thinking about buying a house. I currently have a mortgage for a flat I bought six years ago as a permanent employee (the lender is NatWest), and am wondering whether to ask them about increasing my borrowing facility. I don't really want to tell them I'm now a contractor as that may ring alarm bells, but given that I already have the mortgage I'm not sure what they would do. Anyways, my question is:

- Will my new status as a contractor (albeit through an umbrella company) affect the decision of a High Street lender to increase my borrowing facility?

Anyone with similar experiences please chime in. Thanks!

What you don't tell them can't harm them.

Comment

Ask Parasol, I thought their mortgage advice was very helpful. Maybe you could move to a more contractor friendly mortgage?
      Will work inside IR35. Or for food.

Comment

You are a permanent employee. Of Parasol. So no fibbing needed.