• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I have lost my mojo

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have lost my mojo

Having a really difficult contract – I may be leaving in 3 weeks or may be extended, client not telling me straight, and the agent is not getting back to me. They are giving my role to a wet behind the years project manager who psises on shoes, and two graduates without a scoobydoo. I am also an expert administrator for their test management suite, they have absolutely no skills of the product in-house. They kind of don’t want me, but need me and cannot decide which way to go with me. Pretty soul destroying. The project is in a terrible position but they are in denial, back –patting around the permies and blissful acquiescence.

If I leave, I am seriously questioning if I want to carry on in this game. I am too comfortable – mortgage is low, I can live on Living Wage very comfortably – I have around 4 years living expenses which is not giving me a great deal of motivation to get back to it.

I have not had a holiday other than Christmas break for around a year. Maybe I am just having burnout, maybe a couple of months in the French apartment will be enough to sort me out, and to look for contracts while by the poolside.

Maybe I am just worried about having a relaxing break for not being bothered to get back into it as I don’t have the burning need to.

Anyone else felt like this after a year of crepe? I used to enjoy my work.

I think you should get laid ASAP.