• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IOM Employee

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IOM Employee

I currently work as a PAYE employee in/on the wonderful Isle of Man.

I have recently won a 6 month contract in the UK, and as far as I can tell have a number of options open to me;

Stay as an employee of that company, and cut a deal as to the new hourly rate, and expenses, ER, EE, NI etc. This would probably give me the highest take home pay.

Use an umbrella company, and claim like a MOFO everything and anything that I can relate to my contract.

Form my own LTD, and claim 5% as expenses, (5 blooming percent!!!)

I believe I will be captured by IR35 and sent to tax hell, so am looking for advice on the legality of option A. In the IOM I pay a maximum of 18% tax. I will retain a IOM residence, and wish to remain an IOM resident.

Any help, will be appreciated.

Thanks

JM

Mant EBT's including the one I promote on www.************.co.uk are based in the IOM and offer a low tax alternative regardless of what the contract conditions may be.

Wait to see what 4contractor's salesman of the month Gordon Brown has to say in the budget - it's on Wed 17 March. If you don't like his options look to an alternative.

Comment

Ignore Fiddle (for now), he has a different agenda!