• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Are low-ranking universities bad for our children?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

More importantly, are rubbish degrees bad for our children?

Over Easter I had lunch at Yo Sushi at Cheshire Oaks. When I paid, our waitress asked if we had finished shopping.
    Me - "My wife and daughter have : I took the boys to see the Catalyst museum".
    Her - "What is that?".
    Me - "A chemical museum nearby".
    Her - "I must visit - I have a degree in bio-chemistry".
    Me - "Why are you working here"(I expected the answer to be looking for work"
    Her - "Yo Sushi pays better"
    Me - "Please don't give up your dream. Most starter jobs earn less".

Sorry if this sounds bad, but she was female and black. Would do great for diversity statistics if she was working......

The article linked to is a good one.

I think that for many children now going to university the choice must be based on the job/career prospects for previous graduates post university. If an establishment has a poor record of translating education into decent jobs then I don't think it's worthwhile going, particularly given the potential amount of debt people will now leave university with. I feel lucky to have only come out of university with something like £3k in student loans... that's nothing compared to now.

Comment

Originally posted by ShandyDrinker View Post
      I feel lucky to have only come out of university with something like £3k in student loans... that's nothing compared to now.
      Agreed.