• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

If you are still undecided on the EU, here is a simple solution

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

If you are still undecided on the EU, here is a simple solution

2016-05-17 Undecided on the EU referendum? Here is a simple solution

When I resigned from my job as director general of the British Chambers of Commerce it was because I wanted to speak freely about Brexit.

I have 35 years of business experience at the top of large corporates and as an entrepreneur having co-founded a successful tech business, I have interacted with the EU throughout that time.

I have seen its workings up close. I was involved in the first deregulation task force under Margaret Thatcher, the single market programme and have been chairman of the CIES International standards committee for food and consumer products.

My time with the Health and Safety Commission provided ample opportunity to observe the regulatory burden from Brussels and I was able to see the interaction of UK policy with that of the EU as a Competition Commissioner.

I had always been a healthy Eurosceptic. Yet I believed it was worth working from within the EU in an effort to reform it.

At the beginning of this year I came to a crossroads.

Firstly, the Prime Minister returned from two years of supposed negotiations with an agreement about as reliable as the one with which Neville Chamberlain returned from Munich in 1938.