• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Implied Contracts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Implied Contracts

Hello everyone,

New to the forum and looking for some advice.

I have been contracting with an organisation for 14 months now and have recently had my contract terminated. I was informed of this on Tuesday and told my last day was tomorrow (Friday 19th May).

In September 2015, I renewed my contract for 6 months, in writing, with a 1 month notice period and an end date of 4th March. At no point around or since the expiry was extension, variation etc. discussed and I have continued to turn up for work, paid the same daily rate with no other changes.

Following being informed of the termination, I've discussed the matter of my notice period and been told, effectively, that this won't be honoured.

Before kick up a fuss / looking to sue the organisation I was hoping to garner some opinion on the likelihood of the contract terms, particularly the notice period being implied to continue.

I appreciate that there are other issues to consider - networks, burning bridges etc. but hope someone can shed some light on the above.

Thanks in advance!

Are you paid based on signed timesheets? How are you going to work the extra days if you don't get them signed? They are under no obligation to provide you work (unless you're under IR35 with an appropriate MoO clause).

If they want to can you at no notice, they will. They'll make something up.