• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Never ending support after contract finished!!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Never ending support after contract finished!!

Hi Guys,

I work as an IT contractor - and I recently finished a contract with an HR department in a large company. Part of the project was to implement a new system - which I project managed and implemented myself before the contract came to a natural end and they released me.

However - a few months down the line - typical issues are being experienced with the system. The majority of these are just skill gaps where the guys there don't know what they are doing to configure the system (I did provide some documentation). There are some bugs that exist that only became apparent after some time using the system (e.g. It wasn't carelessness on my part)

The issue is - they keep emailing me every week asking me to support or fix different things - but I think they are expecting me to do this for free... as in their mind it "should have worked".

My feeling is that they are being a bit naive trying to host a software platform without any sort of in house support.

What are your guys thoughts? is it reasonalbe for them to expect me to do these changes for free? or should I be asking them to pay me - even if the bugs that exist were technically my fault to begin with?

I really like these guys - but I am starting a new role next week - so my ability to support them will be very limited.

Thanks for your help!

No testing sign off?