• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Business development

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Business development

I am a contractor from abroad. I started contracting in my country but contracting market is not very good over there. Currently I am contracting in UK (I know you will be very happy about that).

In between contracts I and my friends developed quite complex software system.
    The solution is complimentary to ERP systems (integrates with SAP, BaaN, Oracle Apps etc). It operates in Manufacturing/Warehousing/Logistics areas of plants.

There are some solutions like that but they are usually expensive (at least 150K-250K GBP). It can be considered as a niche solution, one of the reasons is customer budget requirement (starting at 25K).

The solution started to sell quite well in France. This brought some nice ‘global’ references. References seem to be quite important in that business.

Question is: having limited financial capabilities for the moment what is the best way to start selling that solution in UK (partners, direct sales, others). Any other ideas or comments are welcome.

Enter the next series of Dragons' Den.

Comment

Thanks a lot for your idea. Unfortunately this is not the kind of business that requires the product to be known by everybody in the country like a new toothpaste or mortgage.

Comment

Who cares, if everybody knows your brand and likes the sound of it they will want to buy into it.

Advertising is the way to get yourself known and the way to push any product.

Comment