• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

General newb advice / Investment Banking

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

General newb advice / Investment Banking

Hello all,

Just after some advice really on contracting.

My background is perm positions in the city within the market data arena, last position was 5 years with a large Swiss bank as a market data manager which I feel gave me good PM skills and a broad knowledge of the vendor market. I've been away from work for the last 2 years, doing some travelling and renovation projects in Aus but now want to (have to) re-enter the workforce.

Since I always seem to have other projects on the go that require chunks of time, and I hate the idea of going back to day-in-day-out commuting to London, I am looking into contracting as a way to give me enhanced income for periods of time but also allow me to take a couple of months off here and there if I want to.

Looking at positions just on this website, there are certainly jobs that I know I could do fine for £300-£450pd and other roles for £500+pd that with a bit more training and confidence I could do.

My concerns:

- My ability to hit the ground running on new projects with new people (traditionally this has taken me a little while to get into the swing of things and build solid working relationships)
    - Employers extracting every £'s worth of value from me by long hours, unrealistic targets (though I coped before in perms, and I wouldn't mind so much if it was a finite contract)