• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax Mess - Advice would be appreciated!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax Mess - Advice would be appreciated!

Hi
    i'm new(ish) to contracting - i've been doing it for 12 months now. The first 4 were using an umbrella company, the last 8 have been using a managed company.

I am extremely disorganised, and have a very limited understanding of tax, so i (lazily) assumed that using a managed company meant i had to pay no notice of tax.

In short i've not saved any of the money i've been paid over the last 12 months. It's all gone. But now a friend has told me that i will at some point be liable to pay more tax on the money i've earnt. Is this the case? I, probably stupidly, assumed my managed company took care of all tax deductions, and so the money that i earnt was mine to do with as i pleased.

Have i messed up badly? Please help with any advice, it will be much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!

If you are being paid with a combination of salary and dividends then tax may be due on the dividends depending on the amount. If you're just being paid salary then they should be taking it at source through PAYE.

Note: yoou are talking about the 05/06 tax year, correct? In which case you need to factor your pre-contract earnings into any calculations for that year.

Comment

You need to ask your managed company what they have payed and let us know. Assuming you've been made a director of the managed company, here is a short list of the major taxes to be paid:-