• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question about government contracts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about government contracts

Cheers all,

I am a student in the United States studying the Government of the UK. I am trying to figure out the best way to aquire a government contract assuming I was a citizen of London.

For example, Lets say I am a poor carpenter living in London. I am also a member of a trade union but am trying to make more money. How would I go about getting a government contract to build a building for the Ministry of Trasport?

Would I attempt to use my trade union to lobby the Ministry of trasport? or is there a way I as an individual could lobby for the particular contract?

Thanks a alot, I have been looking at this question for awhile now and can't seem to get past it because I am split on using the union to lobby on my behalf in an attempt to get the contract, or I am thinking there might be a way where I can bypass the union all together and do myself.

Regardless, I look forward to your replies.

-sb

sbrad

The government procurement process in the Uk is skewed against individuals and small companies. Not sure a trade union lobby would curry much favour with the current government or any government for that matter.

Check out the OGC
    Sola gratia

Sola fide

Soli Deo gloria

Comment

Originally posted by Chico
      sbrad

The government procurement process in the Uk is skewed against individuals and small companies.