• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Being fired as a IT contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Being fired as a IT contractor

Hi there,

I am an IT contractor through my own limited company. I've been in my current role 2 months - and to be honest I'm not enjoying it at all and want to leave. I am on 4 weeks notice period.

I told my boss this week that I wanted to take 3 days off next week (weds, thurs and fri) - as my friends have booked a holiday and I want to go. I appreciate this is short notice I've given her. She has declined and said she needs me in the office (even though she doesnt because theres nothing at all to do)).

Long and short of it ----- im going on the holiday - be it by taking sick leave or just ignoring her advice not to go. I care more about going on the holiday than the job.....

However - if I do get fired I would like to still work out my 4 week notice period - which I'm worried might be put in danger if I go on the holiday after being told not to.

Can you let me know if there is any way I can preserve my 4 week notice period in this situation - Would it work if I claimed I was sick even though it was an obvious lie?

Thanks for your help

From - probably not the best person to hire for a job

Well.... I usually say - I am going to be unavailable to provide services between xxx and yyy. I don't request holiday. Usually I have an informal conversation with my customer contact first though.