• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving on

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving on

I'm aware that as contractors we tend to have an ongoing requirement to reinvent ourselves in order to stay current/marketable, but I'm having a real issue doing this. I'm not sure if it's motivation, burnout, middle age, boredom, etc. but whilst I recognise the need to move on, it's too tempting to cling on to the past.

Without boring the pants off you, I'm a developer from the North of England and have been contracting for over 12 years, mostly in the London investment banking sector. I have a skill that pays around £ 650 still but those rates are getting harder to achieve. Indeed, no longer are they the interesting greenfield development roles but bug fix/enhancement of mature systems. In short, dull. However, where is the motivation to reskill to newer technologies? I'd be investing a lot of time doing this and for much lesser rates, generally. Not only that but I'd be jumping from the top of the ladder at what I do, to grad-level. I'd be competing with kids with more tech-specific experience than me for half the rate. That doesn't motivate me. However, I do look at my industry and to say it has 'contracted' is an understatement. More developers competing for fewer roles in a dying technology and dying industry, with a backdrop of offshoring and cost cutting. Feels like I'm in limbo, clinging onto the past hoping to edge above the 100 or so other developers per advertised role for my core skill for roles I don't reall