• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella co for part-timer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella co for part-timer

I am in the usual position of having a part-time contract (18 ¾ hours per week) as I am a new parent.

I have been using the services of an umbrella company for the past 3 months, but frankly, the service is getting worse and worse and I would like to move elsewhere. I have noticed, however, that most umbrella companies have fixed per week or per week fees, which are a big chunk out of a part time wage.

Are there any other part-timers out there? Does anyone have any experience of an umbrella company that accommodates part-timers? Does anyone know of any that charge a percentage admin fee?

Originally posted by part_timer
    I am in the usual position of having a part-time contract (18 ¾ hours per week) as I am a new parent.

I have been using the services of an umbrella company for the past 3 months, but frankly, the service is getting worse and worse and I would like to move elsewhere. I have noticed, however, that most umbrella companies have fixed per week or per week fees, which are a big chunk out of a part time wage.

Are there any other part-timers out there? Does anyone have any experience of an umbrella company that accommodates part-timers? Does anyone know of any that charge a percentage admin fee?
    1st Contact charge a percentage fee but I wouldnt touch them with a barge pole.