• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First set of accounts to HMRC advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First set of accounts to HMRC advice

Hi,

Hi I started trading December 8th 2014,

First set of accounts completed and Corp tax paid on profits to HMRC for the period Dec 8th 2014 to Dec 7th 2015.

However I also have the small period to take me from Dec 8th 2015 to Dec 31st for the 2nd set of accounts as its my first year of trading. In this short space of time I made a small loss. So what happens to this loss in terms of paying more corporation tax? do i just not pay any corp tax on this loss and carry the loss to the next set of accounts??

Originally posted by jonnyg2k5 View Post
    Hi,

Hi I started trading December 8th 2014,

First set of accounts completed and Corp tax paid on profits to HMRC for the period Dec 8th 2014 to Dec 7th 2015.

However I also have the small period to take me from Dec 8th 2015 to Dec 31st for the 2nd set of accounts as its my first year of trading. In this short space of time I made a small loss. So what happens to this loss in terms of paying more corporation tax? do i just not pay any corp tax on this loss and carry the loss to the next set of accounts??
    You should have done your year end at 31st December 2015. Do you have an accountant?
    See You Next Tuesday

Comment

Your accounts run to the end of the month.

Comment

Accounts should be the the end of the month; CT you have to do twice:

https://www.gov.uk/first-company-accounts-and-return