• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Leaving the country for a few years

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaving the country for a few years

I'm planning to leave the country for a few years. I might come back after that.

I've been contracting for around 2 years. This is what my accounts look like curently - http://i.imgur.com/h208I6Il.png. The "Retained Profit" is negative, because I max'ed out the £100k at the End of March, because of the dividend tax increase. I'm currently paying around £100 monthly to my accountant.

I'm looking for tax advice outside of the one that my accountant gives me. What is the most tax-efficient way to get money from my company?

Are you allowed to pay dividends that are more than your profit? I thought that wasn't allowed.
    First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win. But Gandhi never had to deal with HMRC

Comment

if you're off to North Korea just take the lot.
      See You Next Tuesday

Comment

Originally posted by RonBW View Post
        Are you allowed to pay dividends that are more than your profit? I thought that wasn't allowed.
        Most of the profits were from 2015. The dividends paid out in 2016. I thought you could pay yourself out in a later tax year if you wanted.

Comment

Normally I'd assume any tax advice 'outside of what my accountant gives me' generally means something he wouldn't advise or approve of.