• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

KODI and Chromecast?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KODI and Chromecast?

I am new to KODI but as I am away from home mostly at the moment I thought about using fairly regularly to watch stuff. I understand that KODI cannot be installed natively on a Chromecast. It appears that you have to run KODI on your Android (or other) device and "cast" the stream to the Chromecast. Is anyone here doing this, or is it better to buy one of the cheapo (about GBP 32) Android/KODI boxes from Amazon? Thanks.
    Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
    Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

No, but I use Plex on Chromecast which surely amounts to the same thing. I found some instructions for Kodi and it seems like a bit of a PITA, but doable.

Installing something on the Chromecast is the wrong question. Just be sure you're not casting the screen to Chromecast (which will be crap), but casting the stream.
    Will work inside IR35. Or for food.

Comment

Originally posted by VectraMan View Post
      No, but I use Plex on Chromecast which surely amounts to the same thing. I found some instructions for Kodi and it seems like a bit of a PITA, but doable.

Installing something on the Chromecast is the wrong question. Just be sure you're not casting the screen to Chromecast (which will be crap), but casting the stream.
      Ahhhh, yes, I see. It seems the logical thing is to cast the screen to the Chromecast with KODI running.