• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Statutory Maternity Pay / Maternity allowance?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I was a contractor, working through a personal service company. The company employed my partner who assisted me in the performance of my functions. Earlier this year, I was offered a permanent position and took it. My partner was also pregnant and she was made redundant by my PSC soon after and the company is now dormant.

She has now had the baby and is about to put in the paperwork for SMP / MA however as she is no longer employed by the company (which is now not trading / dormant) the company can not pay SMP and is required to complete an SMP1 form however the reasons on the SMP1 form don't fit this.

They are:
    - Employee not employed long enough
    - Earnings not high enough
    - You did not tell me soon enough that you will stop work to have your baby
    - You did not give me medical evidence soon enough
    - You did not tell me soon enough that your baby had been born
    - You were in legal custody
    - You have started work after the birth

Anyone else been in this position? What is the correct way to approach this?

Erm. Looks pretty much like its a no goer from that list. Not sure what else there is to do. Out of interest did you have a signed employment contract? I don't think many if anyone pay redundancy to partners I'm these situations do they?

I'd she's no longer employed by the company how can she claim maternity pay? Sounds odd that.