• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividend new tax year

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividend new tax year

Hi,

I am currently in my first year of contracting.

I am currently paying myself £675 a month salary and the rest in dividends, however since I hit the £40k bracket I have been keeping more money in my business account.

My plan is to keep the accumulated amount, which is around £20k (After paying CTax) in until April 2017 which will be a new company year and then issue a 20k dividend to avoid paying a higher 32.5% rate. Is this the correct way to proceed?

My other options are to take the money out now and pay the 32.5% higher rate dividend tax, however am I correct in thinking I should just wait and pay this in April when I get my new tax allowance and only pay the dividend at the lower rate (£5k free and then 7.5% on the other £15k?)

I spoke to my accountant and he advised that we will discuss it in April, however I really would appreciate an answer if this is the best thing to do.

Any advice is appreciated.

Depends on your personal circumstances but if you don't need the money then yes I'd wait till next year and take as much out quickly and put it somewhere it might earn some interest.