• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Why IT contractors don’t always build empires

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why IT contractors don’t always build empires

I am not a business, and don't want to be. I am a professional.

Originally posted by expat
    I am not a business, and don't want to be. I am a professional.
    Sounds a bit like 'disguised employee' to me.

Anyway, IT monkeys are not 'professionals'.

Doctors are 'professionals', lawyers are 'professionals'.

There is no recognised professional qualification for IT and no professional standards body.

Professional my arse!

You've come right out the other side of the forest of irony and ended up in the desert of wrong.

Comment

Professionals in American sense probably.

Comment

Originally posted by bogeyman

There is no recognised professional qualification for IT and no professional standards body.

Professional my arse!

Comment

Professional my arse!
          Your arse may be professional, I wouldn't know.

I mean professional in the sense that what I want do is apply my (IMHO rare) knowledge and ability to solve problems for clients, not build a business. "Employee", disguised or otherwise, is irrelevant. That is part of the argument of business vs employee. I don't care, it's like metal desk or wooden desk, laptop or desktop. It's just a tool or method, not the object.

"Professional" as you put it is probably irrelevant too: that's a status rather than an activity.

Comment

Originally posted by AtW