PDA

View Full Version : Working through supplier to a public service/fix term contract

Bheleu
14th March 2017, 15:39
Just been talking to some agents I have had the following two cases described to me for working for a public body

1. ITs part of a fixed price contract, therefore its not subject to IR35
2. Its working through a supplier to a public body, ie the suppler is supplying a service and I would be working for through that supplier.

Theses are the only details that I have for two different possible contracts.

I am not an expert at IR35, but if it was that easy to avoid using either of these two methods, it would have been tried already, I smell a rat.

Any advice please ? I known the devil is in the detail

northernladuk
14th March 2017, 15:44
But how will you be engaged? You will be on a daily rate sitting on a seat doing the same as permies and can't substitute etc?

Have they explicity told you the gig will be in or outside IR35 and how have they come to that determination? It still applies to any gig as it has up to now, just might be out of scope of the legislation. Have you asked them directly about the recent legislation? If they start umming and ahhing be very careful.

MrMarkyMark
14th March 2017, 15:47
Do you mean Fixed Term Contract, rather than fixed price?

LondonManc
14th March 2017, 15:54
Do you mean Fixed Term Contract, rather than fixed price?

To me, it reads as fixed price - that's what puts it outside IR35. As we know, that can be a massive can of worms if you don't nail the analysis and scope.

FTC would just be the PSB acting as the umbrella as well.

As NLUK says, what's your involvement? Are you fixed price to the consultancy?

MrMarkyMark
14th March 2017, 15:56
To me, it reads as fixed price - that's what puts it outside IR35. As we know, that can be a massive can of worms if you don't nail the analysis and scope.

OPs Thread Title:-

Working through supplier to a public service/fix term contract