PDA

View Full Version : Website with a simple database

BoredBloke
20th November 2006, 14:32
I realise that this should be in technical, but I want some help on this quickly as I'll be getting involved in this tomorrow!!!!

I have been asked as to the possibility of hosting a database on the web. I have no web experience and only really ever used access as a database.

What would be the quickest and above all easiest way of getting a simple database up on a companies intranet? Having not used anything other than access, I'm completely open to any s/w - If it is possible, the client has even less experience in this field. Ideally I figured some form of SQL or mySQL as a means of generating the database but have no clue as to the way of generating the front end.

Can somebody please point me in the direction of a very easy tutorial to get me started so that I can run through it today. Cheers in advance

MrsGoof
20th November 2006, 14:40
How quick does it need to be done?

AMP is probably the easiest way
Apache, MySQL and PHP (php is very easy).

Ardesco
20th November 2006, 14:40
have a look at http://www.howtoforge.com. They have quite a few good tutorials for setting up a basic LAMP (Linux Apache MySQL PHP) server which should be all you need.

MrsGoof
20th November 2006, 14:42
Just a note to follow on from Ard.. reply, this is can all be done on LINUX or WINDOWS. AMP is availbe for both

Ardesco
20th November 2006, 14:45
They certainly can, however if you use a Linux distro like Debian it is much easier to set it all up for linux as you can quickly install extra PHP and Apache modules with minimum fuss.

(apt-get rocks :) )

Either way, LAMP or WAMP the choice is yours :)

AtW
20th November 2006, 14:48
Even better you can just MySQL and PHP on Windows, thus making it just MP.

Viktor
20th November 2006, 14:51
MySQL has Windows support, perhaps the quickest way to setup would be to install MySQL on a Windows machine, together with IIS...

Ardesco