PDA

View Full Version : Washer dryer

VectraMan
5th July 2017, 10:56
I need to buy a washing machine for a new place I'm renting, but it seems you can get a washer-dryer combo for only a little more. I lived somewhere years ago with a separate dryer and it was handy, but I've no experience of the combos and I'm half expecting people to say "NOOOO! It's a terrible idea. They always break down, ruin your clothes, and use so much electricity it'd be cheaper to buy new clothes each time."

Any IT contractors with expert knowledge?

sasguru
5th July 2017, 11:01
I always had combi washer dryers for my rentals, it's a good idea for space reasons and also only one machine to maintain and replace.
I used Hotpoints (because low to mid price, you don't want a Miele for a rental) and they were fine - life expectancy was about 5 years.

WTFH
5th July 2017, 11:02
NOOOO! It's a terrible idea.
Inefficient, complex design, liable to failure.

Two options with a machine - get a cheap one (e.g. Beko) and accept that it may or may not last < 5 years. Option 2, get a Miele at around 3-5x the price, but pretty much bombproof and guaranteed for 10 years, so hopefully will manage 20.

VectraMan
5th July 2017, 11:08
Two options with a machine - get a cheap one (e.g. Beko) and accept that it may or may not last < 5 years. Option 2, get a Miele at around 3-5x the price, but pretty much bombproof and guaranteed for 10 years, so hopefully will manage 20.

Ouch. £1400 for the appropriately named Miele WTF1300 from Currys, or £289 for an Indesit.

BTW I'm not an scummy evil capitalist landlord, but a poverty struck scraping pennies from behind the sofa to pay the rent tenant.

d000hg
5th July 2017, 11:12