• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Washer dryer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Washer dryer

I need to buy a washing machine for a new place I'm renting, but it seems you can get a washer-dryer combo for only a little more. I lived somewhere years ago with a separate dryer and it was handy, but I've no experience of the combos and I'm half expecting people to say "NOOOO! It's a terrible idea. They always break down, ruin your clothes, and use so much electricity it'd be cheaper to buy new clothes each time."

Any IT contractors with expert knowledge?
    Will work inside IR35. Or for food.

I always had combi washer dryers for my rentals, it's a good idea for space reasons and also only one machine to maintain and replace.
    I used Hotpoints (because low to mid price, you don't want a Miele for a rental) and they were fine - life expectancy was about 5 years.
    Hard Brexit now!
    #prayfornodeal

Comment

NOOOO! It's a terrible idea.
      Inefficient, complex design, liable to failure.

Two options with a machine - get a cheap one (e.g. Beko) and accept that it may or may not last < 5 years. Option 2, get a Miele at around 3-5x the price, but pretty much bombproof and guaranteed for 10 years, so hopefully will manage 20.
      …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment

Originally posted by WTFH View Post