• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

do you pay for training?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

do you pay for training?

How many of you pay for your own training, and how often?

In my 15 years as a contractor, I paid for one C++ training course and attended one Outlook course paid for by a client. (and btw, I was never out of work for more than a couple of months without wanting to be)

Is that a typical training plan?

William Knight
    Warning: Answers to this thread may be quoted on the front page.

I would have to say thatI have looked into training on many occasions, but I have not yet had the downtime to actually go and do it. When I hit the stage where I can't find a gig and have some time off i'll probably get my arse in gear and do the training i've been meaning to do but otherwise it's not likely to happen.

The industry changes so quickly anyway the best way to get experiance in my particular field is to get a job with a technology when it is new and very few people have any experiance and then build up your experiance that way (taking a role at a lower rate than normal is usually the way to do this)

Comment

Training in the UK is a con. As a contractor you pay the full price for the course yet the likes of EDS etc get massive discounts. Also, since you are not working you are actually spending double once you have shelled out for the course.