• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I hate contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I hate contracting

I was in a conference call yesterday when the bloke on the other end of the phone asked if I was a contractor. On an affirmative he then said to the whole room, "oh I think it's a mistake giving this piece of work to a contractor" to which I had to reply out loud 'It's lucky I have a thick skin isn't it'

and the moneys tulip.

He's right though. Come renewal, I aint renewing and they should have never given the work Im doing to a contractor!!!
    What happens in General, stays in General.
    You know what they say about assumptions!

So true. I have a dilemma, major threat of a new contract which I will probably get if I try but utterly dull work. Should I lie to the wife and say there's nothing on the horizon and go happily back to my £5k a year business or take it and be better off but bored witless for the next 6 months?
    bloggoth

If everything isn't black and white, I say, 'Why the hell not?'
    John Wayne (My guru, not to be confused with my beloved prophet Jeremy Clarkson)

Comment

So who else won't be renewing?

Tell me about it. I have a %*@!£# bullying line manager and a %*@!£# bitchy colleague who's so far up the manager's derriere it's unbearable working here. Even taken the man to greivance procedures - but what can you do? Shame really as the company is great.

Comment

Originally posted by realityhack