• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting remotely from Ireland with UK company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting remotely from Ireland with UK company

Hi,
    I've been contracting for over 20 years with my own limited company, and I'm planning on moving to the Republic of Ireland next summer. I'm going to wind up the LTD using an MVL before I leave.
    The London-based company I current provide services to are interested in me continuing to work with them, and I could work remotely from Ireland, for several months at least.
    So, I was wondering what's the best way to handle this? Use a UK umbrella company while living in Ireland? (I probably won't be tax-resident in Ireland next year due to being under 183 days spent in the country.)
    Or, operate through an Irish LTD or umbrella? I know some companies and agencies don't like dealing with non-UK contracting vehicles. (And in this case I may have to deal with an agency as middleman.)

I don't know if anyone on the forum has been in a similar situation?
    Thanks.

Originally posted by SilverBirch View Post
    Hi,
    I've been contracting for over 20 years with my own limited company, and I'm planning on moving to the Republic of Ireland next summer. I'm going to wind up the LTD using an MVL before I leave.
    The London-based company I current provide services to are interested in me continuing to work with them, and I could work remotely from Ireland, for several months at least.