• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax benefits of a Ltd Company VS self employed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax benefits of a Ltd Company VS self employed

Hello everyone, this is my first post here, so please bear with me.

I'm in a dilemma that I believe is very typical of any freelancer: how can I get the most out of my earnings and pay the least amount of tax. I am a software developer freelancer, turning around just over £50K a year (last year, it was less the year before). Currently I work as a self employed, but I've heard that if you are operating under a ltd company you can pay yourself salary and dividends and get great tax benefits as compared to being self employed. For example, on my self employed profits of just over £40k last year, I was left with around £31K after paying taxes. However, ww w.income-tax.co.uk - if this tax tool is right (scroll down to the dividends section in the "Other income sources" section, and set the salary income to £0, if I take out £40K in dividends, I'll be left with over £38K. That's a huge difference. Am I missing something, or is this how things are?

Thanks in advance for your advices.
    Last edited by cojak; 4 June 2018, 13:59. Reason: Removed link

Tax

The limited company model would be a lot more efficient at that level. I'd suggest a run through the pros and cons with an accountant who should be able to provide you with some comparisons.

Comment

Ltd

Originally posted by Darren at DynamoAccounts View Post