• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Where to live?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where to live?

I've been contracting for a few years and can't see myself going perm again. It doesn't bother me that it's always required 3-4 days staying away from home, except for the long commutes of up to 5 hrs. I'm currently in the south west and it's time I base my home somewhere more suitable.

Any suggestions for a good location? No dependants to consider. Just need reasonable road/rail transport links (main potential client locations are widely scattered around Manchester, Leeds, Birmingham, Edinburgh, Cardiff, Bristol, London) and good countryside nearby for hiking and mountain biking at the weekend.

Swindon is really the best option. It trumps anything else. Some of CUK's most influential posters are based there and they have nothing but good things to say about the quality of life that you get there.
    Vote Corbyn ! Save this country !

Comment

Originally posted by fullyautomatix View Post
      Swindon is really the best option. It trumps anything else. Some of CUK's most influential posters are based there and they have nothing but good things to say about the quality of life that you get there.
      Swindon's a dump and has absolutely nothing going for it.

If you want the SW I'd stay close to Bristol / Bath where there's good transport links and a bit of life.