• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expenses - laptop purchase leave abroad

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expenses - laptop purchase leave abroad

Hi,

I know similar to another question asked here but with one difference, thought I would ask specifically:

I am a contractor in the UK. I travel abroad a fair bit, if I were to purchase a laptop abroad for the purpose of logging in and working while there, can I still claim this back as an expense?

I can buy one here and take it there of course but when I travel to the US so much seems I should take advantage of their prices, I mean even factoring in state taxes we're talking about $300 of savings. I can leave it at an address there as I have a desktop machine here etc. so there are no import tax considerations but I was wondering is that acceptable (save another £200 in corporation tax then)?

If so how would I do it, can I just buy it in my name and then charge it back? Does it need to be done in the company's name (difficult, I tried registering for a business account with amazon but they wanted details of USA business license etc.).

If I can't do that seems I am stuck saving only one way or the other, cheaper prices there or corporation tax here (though that way I get to bring it back).

Regards

What do you mean by "abroad"?

How often are you in those countries?

Will anyone be able to use the laptop when you aren't using it?
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment