• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Employer pension contribution after company year end

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Employer pension contribution after company year end

Hi all,

It's the first time I post here and I hope I that my question will be answered.

I've been working as a contractor since March 2017, which means that the company year end was on 31st March 2018. I've only recently discovered that I can contribute to my pension via my Ltd and deduct 40k from company's net income, which will allow me to pay less corporation tax.

The corporation tax, for the first company year, is due on 1st December 2018.

Can I contribute today, after the company year end, to my pension via my Ltd and have that amount deducted from the net income, hence pay less corporation tax?

Thank you in advance,

Neo

Why did your accountant not advise you of this initially and why isn't he the one you've gone to for an answer?

Make sure it isnt your warchest you are thinking of putting in to the pension and leaving nothing to cover 6 months out of work.
    Last edited by northernladuk; 14 June 2018, 23:12.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

If you already have a pension, you can can carry forward unused allowance (for 3 years IIRC) , so contribute more this year to get the Corp tax saving next year.

Comment

Originally posted by Neo75 View Post
        Hi all,

It's the first time I post here and I hope I that my question will be answered.