• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Commuting distance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Commuting distance

I'm on the verge of taking a contract that will require a 140 mile round trip every day to get to the client office and back.

I've never done this before and just wondering what sort of distance others travel to get to work. If you travel a long distance, do you feel knackered at the end of every day and does it impede on your productivity?

i did a 100 mile round trip earlier this year.

It was a really sh*t contract for a software company though (me and software co's don't get on) and I really can't say whether the trip effected my work or not.

I was however lucky enough to find a cross country route that I loved driving. Lots of narrow and twisty peak district roads to eat up
    Coffee's for closers

Comment

I used to do 88 miles each way (so 176 round trip). Other than totally fecking the value of my car by putting close to 1000 miles a week on it I loved it.

Was a bit annoying to get up at 4am as it was a 2 hour drive and I had to start at 6am.

The only times it started to grate me was during the winter and when there was a big accident on a motorway and the whole road system turned to tulip.

Luckily though it was at a place which was 100 meters from country side and I could use that and some road that only a few people used to get the majority of the way home.

In the end got it down to about 80 mins each way (what can I say...it was a roman road)

Comment