• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie contractor & umbrella advice from PSL inside IR35 Public Sector

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie contractor & umbrella advice from PSL inside IR35 Public Sector

Hi I've been a sole trader for years then worked on a perm project which is now ending.

I've been keen to get a freelance contract as I work within marketing and roles are often scarce for perm.

a recruiter contacted me via Linkedin. I did an informal interview with a Gov client and they're keen for me to start in 2 weeks for a 3 month contract on an OK day rate. I didnt realise Umbrellas take almost £100 - £150 off of my day rate so now wish I'd told recruiter it was more. The recruiter has now passed me onto onboarding who now reveal I need a DBS check (which I've started & paid for) and I need to have a Umbrella company I use. Even tho I know the role isn't really IR 35 (the client as public sector has deemed 'it may fall inside it). They run their payroll via Giant. Have confirmed I can't go Ltd Company and must choose 1 of these Umbrella companies before they can line uo a contract I can sign.

My head hurts reading / talking to companies. I've searched on here and elsewhere for reviews. please can anyone advise on the best / worse and must avoid?

I want to tie this up tomorrow & choose a limited company.

My choices of preferred suppliers from recruiter AMS are:

Advance

Brookson

First Freelance = Mixed reviews online their website / team were good to speak with anyone found them OK?