• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Early retirement and closing down company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Early retirement and closing down company

Hi all,

Broad question.

I’ve been contracting for a few years now but I’m considering giving it up and retiring early, possibly moving to another country or living and working somewhere else for a while. All very flexible.

By the time I wrap up in April or so I expect to have about £130k left in my business bank account.

Generally I’ve tried to keep any tax payments to an absolutely minimum, so I’ve only taken out around £15k/year (PA + dividend allowance), and I’ve used my full £40k pension allowance every year. I don’t need very much cash so I’m very flexible about the rate at which I can draw down.

Reading around it looks like if I genuinely intend to stop working in the UK, I’m not at risk of being accusing of Phoenix-ing (I’ve never closed a Ltd company before)

I’ve asked my accountant what to do, and his suggestion is to keep the company open indefinitely, and to continue paying the monthly fee to them. To give him some benefit of the doubt, if I was to continue drawing down a salary and dividends then it would be entirely reasonable to keep paying them. However, he’s a little uncomfortable with me continuing to draw a salary if I don’t have an active contract.

Especially as I’m so flexible about drawing down and closing the company, is there anything smart I can do here? The options as I see it are: