• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First timer question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First timer question

This is my first post, so a big hello to all the regulars.

After two years as a permanent Java developer I've finally decided to put my money where my mouth is and move into contracting. I have, as I'm sure all first timers do, a whole bunch of questions. Here're the current big ones, any advice would be much appreciated:
    • Obviously I'd rather not quit my permanent job without securing a contract. This would mean a start date at least a month away. Is this unreasonable or unlikely? Will I find myself having to quit, wait a bit and then find a job?
    • I have enough money to last for two or three months without a pay cheque. Credit cards would of course carry me a whole lot further but at painful interest so I'd rather not go there. Should I have more savings before moving into contracting?

Again, any help much appreciated. Cheers!

Hi James,

Definately DO NOT quit your job before you land your first gig. You have to always think about the money (thats the first rule of Contractor Club!)

Its far better to find a gig while you're working, most jobs will wait for your notice period, but if they want you immediately, then simply fake a bad back when handing in your notice to your permie gig.

In my opinion, dont do aything which risks you being without money.

Sal
    The pope is a tard.

Comment

Virgin Contractor Guide
      Rule #76: No excuses. Play like a champion.

Comment