• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Opinions on April's MSC changes?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opinions on April's MSC changes?

Hi,

I'm a journalist working on an article about the taxation changes for contractors using managed services companies. I'd like to get some opinions on what UK IT contractors think of the changes and how you'll be dealing with them -- by switching to an umbrella or to a limited company or another alternative.

My deadline's this afternoon, so if you're willing to speak to me, drop me a line.

Thanks
    Last edited by nicolekobie; 19 January 2007, 17:36.

Depends who you talk to, but from an IT perspective...

Us LtdCo people are laughing our socks off at all those who have ignored our advice, we believe that genuine brolly users are unaffected, and we think that MSC users who are merely trying to skim taxation are getting what they deserve - they pretend to be freelance but take none of the responsibililties so why should they get the tax breaks?

MSC users will see it as an unparalleled attack on their freedom and yet another stealth tax by taking away the God-given rights to expenses and divis because they really are in business on their own account and just want to outsource all the hard bits, like banking.

Brolly users won't understand what all the fuss is about