• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Help!! - Contract Acceptance \ Starts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help!! - Contract Acceptance \ Starts

Right, I have a bit of a quandry and was hoping some of you with more experience than I may be able to point me in the right direction!

I am a newb contractor having worked as an employed consultant for the last 5yrs but the firm I was working for are strapped for cash and contracting looks like a good option for my life right now.

I needed to start a contract fairly rapidly as I still have wages outstanding from the old firm and I have my CV with several pimps. I had a telephone interview on Tuesday which was meant to follow on with a face to face, however, they called back late Tuesday to offer an immediate start. I stated I would be able to start on Thursday (not weds as they asked) as I had another interview lined up for this morning which I decided to attend for posterities sake.

So, the problem is - I am supposed to start contract A tomorrow but contract B (which pays slightly more & is a little closer) have decided that they will cancel the remaining interviews they have for tom. and have asked if I will start on Monday. I have not given a categoric yes to contract B yet. What to do??

How annoyed is a pimp likely to be if I don't start contract A.... Is it worth accepting contract B for Monday - starting contract A tomorrow and then saying it isn't the right role for me... or do I find a severe enough excuse... or (shock, horror), be honest??