• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pension options as ltd

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pension options as ltd

I have been contracting for 3 years now and have not bothered to set up any sort of pension yet, I was going to start a stakeholder but I am unsure of the differences in terms of contributions and relief from working under an umbrella (currently) and having a ltd company which I plan to do now.

Is there a guide to this? Any advice?
    Science isn't about why, it's about why not. You ask: why is so much of our science dangerous? I say: why not marry safe science if you love it so much. In fact, why not invent a special safety door that won't hit you in the butt on the way out, because you are fired. - Cave Johnson

I have one setup through a financial advisor (and my accountant) - and it just comes out as a business expense - so no tax paid on it.

Comment

Been using Standard Life Stakeholder (thanks for the shares, my plan worked) but in April I am switching to a low-cost SIPP and some general multi-manager funds. I want to see where the cash is being invested and don't trust the big pension companies to get anything more than very average returns.
      I am only chucking 2880 in (topped up to 3600) because I want control of the money, therefore I am chucking 7k into share ISA's which I expect to keep till retirement and milk thereafter.

Comment

Originally posted by lukemg