• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Permie wants advice before switching

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Permie wants advice before switching

This question has probably been asked a million times, but...

To summarise:
    I have 20 years experience as a developer
    I work in C#, ASP.Net and SQL2000/5
    I have a degree
    I have the MCSD and MCDBA
    I work hard
    I love developing

I desperately want to get into Contracting coz I just don't enjoy towing the company line anymore. I really have no intention of kissing ass until I get into Management.

Also, according to the likes of ITJobsWatch I could double my earnings - which sounds nice

So, do I even need to ask the question? Really? If I quit my job, will (should) I land a Contract?

You see, sites like this one, ITJobsWatch and CW make Contracting sound like a dream for someone like me. It sounds too good to be true. Surely I can't get paid that much for doing something I love?

Many Regards

M.

p.s. and do I need to quit my job before I go for a contract?

Whats your notice period? any more than 1 month then yep you'll need to quit your job.

Contracting suits many people but not all, you have to be thick skinned from interview knock backs, permies being complete barstewards towards you. You'll also need a few quid in the bank for when you are resting!
    Your parents ruin the first half of your life and your kids ruin the second half

Comment

I can't believe this is a genuine question, surely it's someone having a 'joke'

Comment