• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Renting Accomodation and claiming expenses.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Renting Accomodation and claiming expenses.

Hi

I am a first time contractor and have not been able to find enough information regarding renting accomodatin and claiming back as expenses.

All I have found so far is that unless you only rent for 5 days a week, you cant claim rental costs. Is this true, and how on earth do you find someone to rent porperty to you on a 5-day basis?

Can you just claim 5/7ths of the total rent?

What about other bills such as elec, gas, water, sky, cable, internet..?

My contract is a long way from home, so its neccessary to rent another porperty to live in during the week, and its cheaper than staying in a hotel...

Any help appreciated.

Re: Accommodation

The Revenue let you claim the cost of weekend stays in rented accommodation (subject to the usual 24 month etc rules) even if you're not working over the weekend. The Revenue will let you claim the cost as long as the use is incidental to the main use. There's something about it in one of the Revenue Manuals.

Remember, however. that this is concessionary i.e. they don't have to stick to it, but it's unusual not to get it.

Comment

Re: Accommodation

>The Revenue let you claim the cost of weekend stays in rented accommodation
      >(subject to the usual 24 month etc rules) even if you're not working over the weekend