• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Payslip

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Payslip

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie, have just started contracting.
    Am using umbrella to process my payroll, have just had first payslip. The amount of tax that is being deducting seems very high. As i have submitted my P45 to them. Was wondering if anyone had an idea of the correct tax deduction amounts. The figues are:

Work period 18/05/04 - 04/06/04 @ 18ph = £2016

Deductions-
    Employers NI: 192.60
    Employees NI: 165.50
    Tax: 358.11

Tax code: 474L

Not including service charge, expenses claim

Does this sound correct to you?
    Any opinions or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Just checked it with the calculator my accountant provides and I get

Employers NI: 207.36
    Employees NI: 177.87
    Tax: 336.33

So your total deduction is £716.21 and I get £721.56. But my calculations do not take nto account what youve earned so far this year.

so you seem to be better off by £5.25

Check the IR web site there should be some tables you can download to calculate it for yourself

MG

Comment

Thanks MG

I've checked and it should actually be:

£1971.05 Gross Pay for tax purposes, after Employers NI (£192.60) and service charge deducted.

And then:

Employees NI: 165.50
      Tax (PAYE): 358.11

My total pay this year is £4631.81 (last job)
      Total tax paid £804.39

The calculator that you mention, is that downloadable, is there a website i can get it from?

Thanks
      Bug

Comment

Heres a link bug