• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What does an Agency offer that I cant?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What does an Agency offer that I cant?

A thought thats been brooding in my head for the last few days:

I've read quite a lot on the boards about going direct, but my question is more along the lines of replacing the agency ( its just idle speculation)

Say I work for a a big project company, I'm a typical contractor with a ltd and I find the job and work thru an agency.

The project company has a number of upcoming big projects spanning the next few years

Myself and X others are are well regarded within the project company and they would be keen to retain our services.

So, after the first contract ends, I want to increase my rate -

I personally could:

a) Attempt to contract directly with the project company - bypassing the agency (assuming no clause that prevents this in my contract)

b) continue working thru the agency

but whats to stop the group of us forming a new company that would act as an agency for US? ie our new agency company replaces (in part) the original agency. The original agency still supplies 50% of the contractors, another agency supplies 45% and we provide 5%.

The project company gets our services at the same rate. We get to cut the original agency out of the equation and if we secure more work in the future we get to hire more contractors thru our new agency and WE take the cut.