• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Forced!!! into a GIANT leap of faith

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Forced!!! into a GIANT leap of faith

Hi guys,

I am a newbie to all this and to be honest am totally confused (sorry for the ramble). I have spent a good few days trying to piece all the bits of info from this website together but it really does go a bit above my head.

I am in a sticky position where i need to make a quick descision between either

1) creating a limited company either with an accountant or managed sjd etc

or

2) going through an umbrella company.

I am not really ready to go the limited route today, but also from everything I have read, feel that the limited route is also a bit risky, especially if they suddenly back date all your income for NI and Tax irrespective of if its dividends etc...

Should i go with an umbrella company for a few weeks/months until I can get my head round it all??

Also, does anyone know if Giant are any good. They are asking £28 which seems steep, but for the short term I can handle it as it will give me breathing space to make the right descision.

How many people are backtracking on dividend payments etc? or are people pretty confident that they are untouchable????

Thanks

Thomas

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en...G=Search&meta=

Comment

Originally posted by tjs
      Hi guys,