• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Depressing Workplace Rant

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Depressing Workplace Rant

Just had the week from hell.

Spent a week doing a project for a big firm. I'm a permie consultant but work from home and travel to customers for projects from time to time.

Forgot what it was like for the 9 to 5ers in certain big company offices. Dark, depressing office. Everyone walking about with frowns. Project managers stopping by to have little words. Crap coffee machine. Crap over-priced canteen. Everyone moaning. Everyone going on about how hard they work. Everyone knackered because of the commute - up early, home late. The inane, inane buzz of office small talk.

Loads of contractors. Overheard conversations about school fees, how they couldn't wait for the weekend to get back to their country home.

Chatting with a permie he casually mentioned that normal IT salary for 'guys like us' was 30k but the contractors got double that. Kept my mouth shut and nodded while silently thinking "**** me, I earn more than the contractors here, as a permie with full benefits and holidays, and I don't get all this office tuliphole hell". Poor, poor guys.

No one should put up with this tulip! Burn these crappy offices down! Get some in-demand skills! Work from home! Make them pay you a decent wage by being worth it!

Originally posted by DieScum