• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

SAP Certification - worth it?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SAP Certification - worth it?

Hi all,

I am in a situation, where I could be able to take a SAP certification exam, but I am questioning is it worth it? I have approximately 3 yrs SAP implementation experience (within PP and MM) and at the moment I am working as an employee at a non-Big5-SAP partner company. My goal is to gather at least a year of extra experience "under my belt", and go into full-time contracting after that.
    What I am asking is, that is it easier to get contracts as a certified vis-à-vis non-certified contractor? And how does certification affect the hourly or daily contract rates? I have taken some SAP courses listed as prerequisites for certification, but I know it will take some time and effort to pass the exam.
    Any answers/experiences will be appreciated, thanks!
    Definately! Go directly into contracting with 3 years SAP experience!
    20.00%
    Don't even consider contracting without certification with such a little experience!
    0.00%
    Go for the certification, and get to contracting now! It's contractor's market...
    40.00%
    Work for 1 extra year, then get to contracting
    40.00%

The poll is expired.

If someone else is paying, then go ahead.

Comment

Experience is more important than the certificate for SAP as it's difficult to get in to (unless you're branching out into other areas).

But as Churchill says - if someone else is paying, do it.