• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Interest Rate Dilemma

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Interest Rate Dilemma

All a gamble I know, but what do the panel think?

Borrowing approx £160k on mortgage - a move up so is about 40% of total cost of house.

I am really tempted by the no fee 5.79% option as reckon those rates are going to carry on climbing... 5 years is a long time though, but if we reach crash then I could be onto a winner! Of course being a contractor I will have it all paid off in a couple of years so this is only hypothetical
    Fixed. 4.9% for 2 years. Fee for 2 years - 1.5 times amount borrowed.
    7.14%
    Fixed. 5.29% for 2 years. Fee - £999.
    14.29%
    Fixed. 5.49% for 2 years. Fee - £599.
    7.14%
    Fixed. 5.79% for 5 years. Fee - no fee.
    71.43%
    Last edited by chubba; 14 May 2007, 12:41.

can you get a capped rate at around 5.79% so if the rates go down then you reap the benifits, but also if they go up, you know the mex. you'll have to pay.
    SA says;
    Well you looked so stylish I thought you batted for the other camp - thats like the ultimate compliment!

I couldn't imagine you ever having a hair out of place!

n5gooner is awarded +5 Xeno Geek Points.
    (whatever these are)

Comment

Where's the ‘let it ride’ option? I am of the opinion that over the average 25 year period of a mortgage they must make money out of fixed rates, so over that period if you just stick with a tracker you should be quids in.