PDA

View Full Version : Anyone for Perl?

mikethebike
23rd September 2003, 10:36
Any of you guys know a good book on Perl?
I can shell script to some extent, but will shortly need to get involved with Perl. I'm not a programmer (never done C and all that), so need something from the ground up.

Mordac
23rd September 2003, 14:34
You might find this site (http://www.lies.com/begperl/index.html) useful.

swamp
23rd September 2003, 15:03
From O'Reilly:

Learning Perl
Programming Perl
Perl Cookbook

AtW
23rd September 2003, 19:48
start running scripts on Windows - running things on unix has got lots of gotchas like not using windows text file format, unbuffering output for Apache or it is not happy etc.

mikethebike
25th September 2003, 09:36
Mordac/swamp,

thanks for those. The website looks good, and the Lama book it is.

Alf,

sorry....don't do windoze. Unix is the future.

atroboy
10th October 2003, 07:52
You might also want to use an IDE. I like OptiPerl (www.xarka.com). Runs on Windows, but you can can save to Unix (built-in FTP), and the debugger allows you to step through your code, inspect variables etc, from your Windows workstation even when the script resides on a Unix server. Also higlights syntax errors as you're typing which is very useful.

Perl really is platform generic, so it doesn't matter if you learn on Windows or Unix, unless you need to come up to speed with vi or some other Unix editor.

AtW
10th October 2003, 20:36
vi would take lifetime to learn - i am waiting for memoires of that guy from Sun who left recently (he is responsible for VI) to confirm my hard believe that he was stoned whenhe came up with concept to switch between insert and command modes :lol

BlasterBates
30th October 2003, 17:30
Yes the VAX VMS editor was so much better.

fiddleabout
31st October 2003, 09:55
> switch between insert and command modes