• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I run a successful business and want to contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I run a successful business and want to contract

Hi
    Not to sure how this would work with regards to IR35 so I was wondering if anyone could help me.

I already own a company which already runs a successful business (nothing to do with IT). I am an IT analyst and have managed to get myself a contract for 6 months possibly longer.... So if I already run my own business and want to start contracting as well how does this place me in relation to IR35? (i.e. I will be working with one company at their site, as I guess you could say as a disguised employee but my company does more than provide only a vehicle for this contract.)

Your advice would be much appreciated

Start a new ltd, perfectly legally, and run your contract work through that. Much easier to manage and keep track of than trying to put it all through the books of your current co.

As has been said many time, usually by Malvolio, IR35 is pretty much voluntary these days. Run it as a separate co. and ensure that the contract is properly put together and you should be fine. Plenty of threads on here on how to go about it.

Checklist

1) Get a decently worded contract and have it checked out by a professional.

2) Join the PCG and get some IR35 investigation insurance

3) Ch-Ching. £££

4) Relax and sleep at night.
    Last edited by DaveB; 29 May 2007, 23:20.