• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice appreciated

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice appreciated

I've been contracting proper for 2 1/2 years now for a big bank and I'm starting to feel stuck in a rut. There's been another thread today about careers advice, and I'd appreciate your views.

I'm <cough> not really an IT bod, got into this malarkey via an unconventional route: photography > film editing > animation > web animation > XHTML/Javascript/CSS/Actionscript > enterprise CMS and IA/usability/accessibility. My art/design background has pretty much carried me through in terms of designing UIs, content etc.

The dilemma is this: Where to go from here to make the transition from doer to planner/project manager? What training/career path do you reckon I should look into?

I was toying with the idea of venturing into usability consulting, but the whole thing seems too 'fluffy' and full of sales BS for me. I liked the idea of designing for many platforms, so was looking into XML/XSLT, but want to avoid being a code monkey for the rest of my life.

Anyone faced a similar crossroads? I really enjoy the creative process, and pulling together great front-ends out of thin air, but I find scripting laborious and dull - I'm not a mathematician, but I can understand some of the challenges faced by programmers, and have worked well with more technical staff to build systems that are refreshingly user-friendly.

Any advice?

You do what your good at and the rewards will come... why change that?