• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Say "No" to requests for directions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Say "No" to requests for directions

I asked some employee of British rail at Waterloo the other week which platform trains left for Basingstoke as all the electronic boards were down. He said that I am a ticket inspector and I dont give directions.

Heard a similar story on another thread.
    Let us not forget EU open doors immigration benefits IT contractors more than anyone

I think that the term you are alluding to is a 'jobsworth'.

Why is someone who takes this approach so despised? I mean, if someone asked you a pc techie question would you not become a 'jobsworth' by not wishing to get involved?

Comment

Can't really blame them for not wanting to step outside their brief DA.

It seems train 'conductors' now face dismissal if they show any leniancy to poor sods who can't buy tickets before boarding due to massive queues. Such unfortunates must be treated as 'Fare Dodgers' when they ask to buy a ticket on the train.

Anyway. Since when did we have 'conductors' on trains. We had guards on trains in my day - and conductors on buses!

You've come right out the other side of the forest of irony and ended up in the desert of wrong.

Comment